Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    20
    Location
    Kathmandu, Nepal
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 14 Advanced
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Novice
    Last Post
    04-28-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    04:27 AM
    Last Active
    09-01-2017

    Question Filter/Search within drop down field

    I have a table called PRODUCTS and it has two fields:

    _kp_products_id
    product_name

    In product_name field it has following values in separate records:

    iPhone Screen Protector
    Samsung Screen Protector
    iPhone Charger
    Selfie Stick

    In a layout I want to show the product_name in a drop down field and when the user choose any of the value it should assign _kp_products_id of that product.

    If I type: "Char" in the field then it should filter down the dropdown with these values:
    iPhone Charger

    If I type: "iPho" in the field then it should filter down the dropdown with these values:
    iPhone Screen Protector
    iPhone Charger

    How can I accomplish this?

  2. #2
    FMT Preferred FileMaker Consultant - Trainer jaymo67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    97
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 15 Advanced
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-19-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    03:27 AM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    Well, you can't filter the list using type ahead but popup and drop down menus will navigate to the choice based on your typing. In order to get a filter, you will need to use a portal and a global field. I tend to avoid techniques like this when I think the standard menus will do the job. Even in a long list, type ahead will locate what you are looking for very quickly. And, there's no additional programming. As for the actual value list definition, FileMaker will do exactly what you are asking. Just define a value list with "use value from field". In the first column, choose the primary key field and in the second, the field you want to display in the popup menu. Make sure to check the option to "show values only from second field:.
    - John Mark Osborne
    FileMaker Developer for over two decades. Certified in FileMaker 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16.
    http://www.philosophyoffilemaker.com/

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. keyword filter for Portal or Drop Down
    By MrsKCookie in forum FileMaker Pro 11
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2016, 05:39 PM
  2. Filter Report using Custom Search Layout
    By sumeesandy in forum FileMaker Pro 12 - All versions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2012, 08:18 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 12:33 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 02:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.