Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    10
    Location
    Orlando, FL USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    Filemaker 15
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Novice
    Last Post
    06-09-2017
    Local Date
    07-21-2017
    Local Time
    08:51 PM
    Last Active
    06-09-2017

    Filtering Value Lists with 3 Tables

    Greetings. I am relatively new to Filemaker and haven't used it in over a year so am a bit rusty. I am working on a quick database for a survey of a couple archaeology site and need some help getting some value lists to filter.

    We are surveying multiple sites and each site is divided up into many many quadrants.

    When I find a new artifact, I want to be able to pick a Site from a Popup Menu. Then, I'd like to be able to pick a Quadrant from a second Popup Menu. The Quadrants are not unique names between site (both Site A and Site B have quadrants B3) so I want the value list in the Quadrant Popup to only show the quadrants in the selected Site.

    The problem I keep running into (I think) is that I am not storing the SiteID in the Artifact table. As a result, my SiteID Popup doesn't have anything in it. Any suggestions or help? Thanks!

    Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 9.59.09 AM.png

    Drew

  2. #2
    Senior Moderator - FMT Preferred Developer Consultant - New York - Worldwide AHunter3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,141
    Location
    New York and Nassau County, NY, USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker Advanced/Developer 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9. 8.8, 8, 7, 6, 5.5 FileMaker Pro 8, 7, 6, 5.5, 5
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    07-21-2017
    Local Date
    07-21-2017
    Local Time
    08:51 PM
    Last Active
    07-21-2017
    You need a field in Artifact that holds whatever selection you make when you select a quadrant. That field should have a value list powered by related values of Quadrant::Quadrant ID but the field itself is in Artifact.

    Then you need a relationship to Site anchored by what you've selected.

    like this.jpg

  3. #3
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    10
    Location
    Orlando, FL USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    Filemaker 15
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Novice
    Last Post
    06-09-2017
    Local Date
    07-21-2017
    Local Time
    08:51 PM
    Last Active
    06-09-2017
    That helps but I'm not quite there. I think my issue is in how I'm populating the value lists.

    On my Artifact Layout, I have the following:
    - Popup for field Artifact:SelectedSite. The value list there is pulling from Site:SiteID and shows all values. (this works great fine)
    - Popup for field Artifact:QuadrantID. The value list here is my problem. I am pulling from Quadrant:QuadrantID and showing values related to something...

    I have tried related values to Artifact, to SelectedSite (second instance of my site table that I added via AHunter's suggestion), Site (original table connected to artifact through quadrant). All of those options are giving me "".

    Any ideas? This is the last thing I need to finish this off and it is also one of the most crucial parts. Thanks!

    Drew

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering value lists for drop down list
    By Paul Zheng in forum FileMaker Pro 11
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 11:01 PM
  2. Many to Many Relationships and filtering/value lists
    By dobiejr in forum FileMaker Pro 11
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 04:02 AM
  3. Filtering Drop down lists
    By ray-lomas in forum ScriptMaker and Scripting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 10:19 AM
  4. Filtering value lists in search and data entry
    By mattmann23 in forum FileMaker Pro 7.0
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2006, 01:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.