Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Perform Find

  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    115
    Location
    Montreal, Qc Canada
    FileMaker Pro Software
    Filemaker Pro 14
    OS
    Windows
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    07-13-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    04:35 AM
    Last Active
    07-13-2017

    Perform Find

    I wrote a script where the script Perform Find (restore).

    When the FoundCount=0 I get the error message Modify Continue or Cancel. Is there anyway for me to do the Find with no dialog if the Found count=0

  2. #2
    FileMaker Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    101
    Location
    Broomall, PA USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FM 16 Advanced
    OS
    Windows
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-26-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    06:35 AM
    Last Active
    10-20-2017
    Use the script step Set Error Capture [On]. Although from a user perspective you may want to also add in a Show Custom Dialog, inform the user of no matching records and give them some options, so they know the find was executed and nothing was found.

  3. #3
    Good guy doughemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,274
    Location
    Middleport, NY USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FMPA 14
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    10-16-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    06:35 AM
    Last Active
    10-20-2017
    To expand on Steve's answer, the Set Error Capture [On] should be placed at the beginning of the script, and the corresponding Set Error Capture [Off] should be placed after the Find step, but before any Perform Script[] command which may follow. Also note that if a find is performed and no records are found, the found set becomes the entire table.
    Give the gift of life. Register as an organ donor today!
    http://www.organdonor.gov/becomingdonor

  4. #4
    Senior Moderator - FMT Preferred Developer Consultant - New York - Worldwide AHunter3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,175
    Location
    New York and Nassau County, NY, USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker Advanced/Developer 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9. 8.8, 8, 7, 6, 5.5 FileMaker Pro 8, 7, 6, 5.5, 5
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-17-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    06:35 AM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    Quote Originally Posted by doughemi View Post
    Also note that if a find is performed and no records are found, the found set becomes the entire table.
    No it doesn't. Perform Find with error capture on results in a found set of 0 if no matching records exist.

  5. #5
    Good guy doughemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,274
    Location
    Middleport, NY USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FMPA 14
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    10-16-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    06:35 AM
    Last Active
    10-20-2017
    Thanks, Allan. To correct my other error, if Error Capture is off, the previous found set is returned, not all the records.
    FoundSets.fmp12.zip
    Give the gift of life. Register as an organ donor today!
    http://www.organdonor.gov/becomingdonor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Scripted form Find button vs Interface Find and Perform Find. Anomaly.
    By compton456 in forum FileMaker 13 - All Versions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2015, 09:48 AM
  2. Need help with a perform find
    By ScottJ in forum FileMaker Pro 11
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-13-2010, 01:26 PM
  3. Can't perform Find
    By database queen in forum FileMaker Pro 9
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2009, 02:47 PM
  4. perform find
    By jaxon in forum FileMaker Pro 8.0
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 01:28 AM
  5. To perform a find on several criterias
    By lily in forum Find, Sort and Search
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 03:13 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.