Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1
    Location
    Apple Valley, CA USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 14 Advanced
    OS
    Windows
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    07-04-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:35 AM
    Last Active
    07-04-2017

    Question Filled-In Fields From Related Records

    I am trying to fill in two fields from related records but cannot figure the correct working way to do it.

    In my main table (DwellTimes) I have a lot of imported data from an AVL system. One of the fields with data is Stop, which has all of the stop names. I created two fields, StopNumber and Timepoint (the imported data does not have these two fields). I created a table (StopNumbers_Names) that has all of the stop names and the associated stop numbers. I also created another table (Timepoints) that has a list of the stops that are timepoints. Not every stop is a timepoint, that is why I created two tables.

    1. I would like the StopNumber field to be filled in from the StopNumbers_Names table. If a stop name equals a name in the StopNumbers_Name table, the Stop Number should be filled in. Example, in the DwellTimes table a stop named Lorene7th matches in the StopNumbers_Names to Lorene7th and has a stop number of 10000, I would like the 10000 to be placed in the StopNumber field of the DwellTimes table. I made the StopNumber field a calculation field with the following calculation with a result field of number (all stop numbers are 5 digits), but it does not enter the number in any of the records.

    If (Stop = StopNumbers_Names::StopName ; StopNumbers_Names::StopNumber ; "" )

    2. If the DwellTimes field Stop is in the Timepoints table, I would like "Yes" to be entered in the DwellTimes Timepoint field. I made the Timepoint field a calculation with the following calculation with a result field of text, but it returns "No" in all records.

    If ( Stop = Timepoints::TimepointName ; "Yes" ; "No" )

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Craig

  2. #2
    Senior Moderator - FMT Preferred Developer Consultant - New York - Worldwide AHunter3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,175
    Location
    New York and Nassau County, NY, USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker Advanced/Developer 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9. 8.8, 8, 7, 6, 5.5 FileMaker Pro 8, 7, 6, 5.5, 5
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-17-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    06:35 AM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    1) Don't use a formula; use the auto-enter option called a Lookup.

    I would like the StopNumber field to be filled in from the StopNumbers_Names table. If a stop name equals a name in the StopNumbers_Name table, the Stop Number should be filled in
    (emphasis added)

    2) I am not clear, from your post, on what relationship you have set up between DwellTimes and StopNumbers_Names. I assume there is a field called Stop Names in DwellTimes? And do I correctly understand that the StopNumbers_Names table has a Name field? Have you crteated a relationship between DwellTimes and StopNumbers_Names, like so?:

    DwellTimes.........StopNumbers_Names
    _______________________________
    Stop Names = Names


    3) Once you have that relationship set up (if you don't already), set the auto-enter option in DwellTimes::StopNumber to lookup from StopNumbers_Names::Stop Number

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Using Container Fields and Related Records in FileMaker
    By FileMaker Newswire in forum Articles, Tips, Techniques & Samples
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2015, 11:40 AM
  2. Keeping Container Fields filled in Find Mode
    By StokarUser in forum Find, Sort and Search
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 06:06 AM
  3. create a new record with some fields already filled in
    By kasell in forum FileMaker Pro 11
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 12:27 PM
  4. Max() function & displaying records from related fields
    By Nate1604 in forum FileMaker Pro 10
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 05:11 PM
  5. Problem: Portals/related records/matching fields
    By nrpguy in forum Microsoft Office & FileMaker
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2007, 07:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.