Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    1
    Location
    Albany, MN USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 14 Advanced
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    07-19-2017
    Local Date
    08-20-2017
    Local Time
    07:55 PM
    Last Active
    07-20-2017

    Script Search with Measurements using " and ' in field

    I am frustrated attempting to search on a Product Description Field that uses inches and feet throughout each item.

    For example:
    R-19 16"x96"
    R-19 72"x50' Microlite L (6'x50')

    The search fails.

    I have attempted to add " " around the search item, yet it also fails.
    "R-19 16"x96""
    to find: R-19 16"x96"
    "R-19 72"x50' Microlite L (6'x50')"
    to find: R-19 72"x50' Microlite L (6'x50')

    Products that don't include " or ' work properly.

    This is part of a script to find a corresponding product number and find the inventory quantity.
    This would be a very important part of my solution if I could make this work.

    PLEASE HELP offer any insights, oversights and suggestions.

  2. #2
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    13
    Location
    France
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 14 Advanced
    OS
    Mac, Windows, Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    07-20-2017
    Local Date
    08-21-2017
    Local Time
    02:55 AM
    Last Active
    08-20-2017
    Hi I know that you need to escape " with something like this \" (if I remember well) try to do a custom function that remplace " to \" just for the text part. Don't really remember if this is a / or a \. Try all the combination
    Edit this explain how to escape in this page :
    http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5038/~/concatenating-a-quote-mark-in-a-calculation-formula
    Last edited by cchumi; 07-19-2017 at 09:59 PM. Reason: Edit

  3. #3
    FileMaker Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    97
    Location
    Broomall, PA USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FM 16 Advanced
    OS
    Windows
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    08-06-2017
    Local Date
    08-20-2017
    Local Time
    08:55 PM
    Last Active
    08-20-2017
    Without knowing more about your solutions, it's kinda of hard to make a 'best' recommendation. But for me, I would rather use either a type-ahead with a portal, and or a combination of a dropdown search box based on a value list of those products. A very small typo of ' instead of " or an extra space can make searches fail.

  4. #4
    Good guy doughemi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,269
    Location
    Middleport, NY USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FMPA 14
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    08-20-2017
    Local Date
    08-20-2017
    Local Time
    08:55 PM
    Last Active
    08-20-2017
    One way to do this would be to substitute curly quotes for the straight quotes in your descriptions. A curly (right) single quote (ʼ) is char(700) and can be typed on a Mac keyboard with option-i. A curly (right) double quote (˝) is char(733) and typed with option-j.

    You can use the Replace Field Contents function to do the substitution of your existing description field; the calculated result would be:
    Code:
    Substitute ( YourTable::YourField ; ["\""; "˝"];["'"; "ʼ"] )
    You can type the above keystrokes into your Search or Description fields, or (more conveniently for your data entry people) can use an OnObjectExit script trigger to convert the field with the same calculation.
    Give the gift of life. Register as an organ donor today!
    http://www.organdonor.gov/becomingdonor

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Windows option script: "resize to fit" + "center"
    By bestlexever in forum FileMaker Pro 12 - All versions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2014, 07:41 PM
  2. Portal of "Glossary" field with two columns, one "Spanish" and one "French"
    By LanguageAmbassador in forum Portal & Relationships
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 07:01 PM
  3. "Set Field By Name" script step not working
    By srohde in forum ScriptMaker and Scripting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 04:15 AM
  4. "To" field in E-mail using FM script
    By csisav in forum FileMaker and E-mail
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 10:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.