Our Preferred 5 Star Hosting Provider - Award Winning FileMaker Pro Hosting
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    5
    Location
    Cape Cod MA US
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 12
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-20-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    09-20-2017

    How do I autoenter from indexed values?

    I review medical records and often have the same name to enter in a provider field. I used to be able to set up that field to autoenter from previously used values in that field and now I can't make that work for love or money. Any help here?

  2. #2
    FileMaker Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    101
    Location
    Broomall, PA USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FM 16 Advanced
    OS
    Windows
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-26-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    10-20-2017
    In layout mode, open inspector to the 4th tab, check the box...
    Auto complete using existing values.
    If you want to Insert from Index, it's in the menu or right click on Windows opens a small window.

  3. #3
    FMT Preferred FileMaker Consultant - Trainer jaymo67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    97
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 15 Advanced
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-19-2017
    Local Date
    10-19-2017
    Local Time
    11:42 PM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    If the option is dimmed out then verify the field is a text field, it is indexed and doesn't have a value list attached that has the second choice column selected.
    - John Mark Osborne
    FileMaker Developer for over two decades. Certified in FileMaker 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16.
    http://www.philosophyoffilemaker.com/

  4. #4
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    5
    Location
    Cape Cod MA US
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 12
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-20-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    09-20-2017
    >
    ***************
    In layout mode, open inspector to the 4th tab, check the box...
    Auto complete using existing values.
    If you want to Insert from Index, it's in the menu or right click on Windows opens a small window.
    >

    This makes no sense to me. There is no "4th tab" in Layout as I see it. I'm looking for that "Autocomplete using existing values," because I used to use it all the time. But it's hiding...

  5. #5
    FMT Preferred FileMaker Consultant - Trainer jaymo67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    97
    Location
    Chino Hills, CA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 15 Advanced
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-19-2017
    Local Date
    10-19-2017
    Local Time
    11:42 PM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    If you open the Inspector first then it will make sense.
    - John Mark Osborne
    FileMaker Developer for over two decades. Certified in FileMaker 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16.
    http://www.philosophyoffilemaker.com/

  6. #6
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    5
    Location
    Cape Cod MA US
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 12
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-20-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    09-20-2017
    >
    If the option is dimmed out then verify the field is a text field, it is indexed and doesn't have a value list attached that has the second choice column selected.
    >

    I see a dropdown there for "Manage DB" (there is also "File>Manage" which takes you to the same place)
    and under that I see that my fieldname is Indexed.
    Double-clicking on that fieldname, I get:

    "Options for field ."
    Auto enter:
    [] Creation (date, date/time, timestamp, name, or account name)
    [] Modification (same choices)
    [] Serial number
    [] Value from last visited record
    [] Data (empty box; if I enter "autocomplete using existing values" in it, what do you think shows up in the field when I open a new record? You're right: "autocomplete using existing values")
    [] Calculated value
    [] Looked-up value (which asks me what data from another table based on the relationships defined between these tables)

    None of this is helpful.
    Where the heck is that "Autocomplete using existing values" tab??? What am I missing?

  7. #7
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    5
    Location
    Cape Cod MA US
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 12
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-20-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    09-20-2017
    "If you open the Inspector first then it will make sense."

    OK, I finally found where they hid the teeny little i icon, after hitting "edit layout" button on the far right above the Browse view.

    There I found Field>Control Style>Edit Box>Autocomplete. Thankfully, that works. No particular reason they had to hide it so well, though.

    So for the next person searching this, the path to success is:

    Browse > Edit Layout > i (inspector) > Field > Control Style > Edit Box > Autocomplete

  8. #8
    Senior Moderator - FMT Preferred Developer Consultant - New York - Worldwide AHunter3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    12,175
    Location
    New York and Nassau County, NY, USA
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker Advanced/Developer 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9. 8.8, 8, 7, 6, 5.5 FileMaker Pro 8, 7, 6, 5.5, 5
    OS
    Windows & Mac
    Skill Level
    Developer
    Last Post
    10-17-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    10-19-2017
    Yeah, the Inspector is an annoying little brat of a feature. I miss FileMaker 10 and the pre-Inspector world.

  9. #9
    Forum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    5
    Location
    Cape Cod MA US
    FileMaker Pro Software
    FileMaker 12
    OS
    Mac
    Skill Level
    Intermediate
    Last Post
    09-20-2017
    Local Date
    10-20-2017
    Local Time
    02:42 AM
    Last Active
    09-20-2017
    "Yeah, the Inspector is an annoying little brat of a feature. I miss FileMaker 10 and the pre-Inspector world."

    Yeah, see, that's my problem. I've been using FM since v. 4, and stopped updating it at 12 because I don't really need more features for what I use it for. And now I have to keep a notebook or separate file for all the BS little changes. It was bad enough when they screwed up Pages.

    Thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Autoenter foreign key
    By cga in forum FileMaker Pro 10
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 05:26 PM
  2. Checkboxes and Autoenter
    By Naudain in forum FileMaker Pro 8.5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 08:04 AM
  3. FileMaker 5.5 autoenter in field
    By June Bug in forum Calculations and Define Fields
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-07-2007, 11:21 AM
  4. Value List & Not Indexed values
    By marysilvaramos in forum Value Lists
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-21-2002, 08:07 AM
  5. Text AutoEnter
    By VicMasters in forum FileMaker Pro Versions 5 & 6
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2002, 05:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Welcome to the Original FileMaker Forum
With designated forums for almost every FileMaker topic...FileMaker Today is a FREE to join community where you can boost your FileMaker expertise, build better apps & solutions and interact with over 42,000+ FileMaker Developers from all over the world. If you're building FileMaker solutions, this is the place for you.
Follow FMT
We Are FMT
FMT is home of The World's leading FileMaker News Site, Worldwide Developer Directory, FileMaker Connect Community and so much more.